Reader Survey: When Do You Bail On A Bad Book?

Book lovers appear to have a wide range of opinions on the subject of bad books, and whether or not we should finish reading them once started.  Personally, I’ve always been of the I-will-forge-ahead-no-matter-what mindset, which can be really painful because I tend to read long books.  Many disagree with this approach.

Because everyone seems to disagree, the minds at GoneReading decided to conduct a poll to see if we can get this thing settled once and for all.  Please take a moment to respond to our poll, share your comments below, and forward along to your reading friends!

For more online discussion on the topic check-out these sites:

Bradley S. Wirz, Founder & CEO
http://www.gonereading.com/

P.S.  If you enjoyed this little post and want to see the final survey results, please flatter us by subscribing to this blog via email or RSS Feed.  Doing so plays a big role in supporting our philanthropic mission!


2 Comments

  1. Allison
    Posted July 10, 2011 at 9:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It depends on why I’m reading the book. If it’s for my book club, I’ll try my best to suffer through it in spite of the fact that it’s terrible. If it’s something that I picked up for pleasure, I tend to bail sooner. Because the whole point of pleasure reading is to get some pleasure out of the reading, right? So I won’t torture myself on something that I can’t enjoy.
    But you have to give the book enough of a chance to redeem itself. It could start slow, but might have promise later on. I give about 1/3 of the way to get into it. If I can’t, I move on to something else.

    • Posted July 10, 2011 at 9:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Good points Allison. And yes, book club definitely provides added pressure to finish. Thanks for the note!

One Trackback

  1. […] results from our July 5th survey are in (see inset)!  I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised to learn that most of my fellow book […]

Leave a Reply

